dirk gently

Enjoyability:      smile transpsmile transpsmile transpsmile transpsmile transp

Deep Thoughts: brain2brain2brain2half brain outlinebrain outline transp 2

Pages: 306    Copyright: 1991

“There is a long tradition of Great Detectives, and Dirk Gently does not belong to it. But his search for a missing cat uncovers a ghost, a time traveler, AND the devastating secret of humankind! Detective Gently’s bill for saving the human race from extinction: NO CHARGE.”

     The short review: ADJKDINFIEINE DOUGLAS ADAMS IS A FLAWLESS INDIVIDUAL.

      I really, really love Douglas Adams. His witticism is unchallengable. I haven’t read the entire Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series, although I recently became the joyful owner of a beautiful black-and-gold omnibus of it, so hopefully that will soon change, but I was familiar enough with his work to be very excited when this was our first book assigned for the Sci Fi class I’m taking. It didn’t disappoint. Dirk Gently had exactly what I love: a million strings of complexity and running gags that all pulled together and tied up with orchestration more beautiful than you were prepared for. It also features the driest, wry-est British humor you could hope for.

        I feel like I should provide some supplemental explanation of the actual plot, since the official synopsis is pretty opaque, but honestly, I don’t know how to explain it without hashing out the whole book. There are five or so different storylines, and the book is all about figuring out how they connect to each other as Dirk and other characters try to solve, in essence, a murder mystery. It all has to do with the “interconnectedness of all things”.

      Douglas Adams strikes that perfect balance between ridiculousness and intelligence. I truly loved every page of this book. It will almost be a pleasure to write that essay about it. Speaking of which, my thesis is due Monday…

Special Awards:

comedy mask  ROFL for good humor.

moon   All-Nighter because even though it’s lighthearted, this was a pretty good page-turner.

