Every Tuesday, the site The Broke and the Bookish posts a prompt for a top-ten-style list, and book bloggers around the web respond to it on their blogs. This week the prompt is the top ten topics/words that make me NOT pick up a book. Here are my top 5.

1.) Vampires. The ship has sailed, people. Stop.

2.) Most other human-paranormal romances. It’s just getting tired for me.

3.) Scary medical conditions. I get freaked out very, very easily.

4.) Excessive vague, capitalized Terms at the very start of a book. This can be a great, cool device in dystopia stories, but recently I opened one in a bookstore, and the first page alone was a bombardment of weird Words that were unexplained, and it just felt contrived and impenetrable. I don’t know what you’re talking about when you say that the Wardens took the Firsts to the BioSpace for the Process on the eleventh Launch Day of the Cycle. Slow down.

5.) If  a book is described as “haunting”, I’ll probably avoid it. I don’t want to be haunted. I prefer to keep my world light and happy for the most part, and I don’t want to take in a story that will mess with that.

 

There may be more, but those are the ones that came most readily to mind!

