Every Tuesday, the site The Broke and the Bookish posts a prompt for a top-ten-style list, and book bloggers around the web respond to it on their blogs. This week the prompt is Top Ten Most Intimidating Books (for whatever reason). Here are my top six, in countdown format.

6.) Dreamland by Sarah Dessen was intimidating before I read it because everyone said it was so wrenchingly intense. But when I finally read it, it wasn’t that bad.

5.) For a little while I struggled with reading Going Bovine by Libba Bray, for similar reasons to Dreamland— I knew it was about a boy with a fatal illness, and I don’t usually like to read books that are so centered around death like that. But I’m so glad I did read it because it was incredible and actually not depressing at all, really.

4.) Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. I got pretty far in it, but it wasn’t an easy read for me, and I haven’t finished it. Pretty dense, and way too many semicolons, even though I love semicolons.

3.) Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan. My friends keep telling me I have to read this book, and they’re probably right, but I guess I’m kind of intimidated by John Green in general because everyone I know loves him so much, but I read Paper Towns and thought it was just okay. And I’m just worried that if I read something else by him, it’ll be the same experience. I feel kind of alienated for not being a John Green fan, and yet I’m also afraid to take steps towards becoming one, in case it doesn’t work. But I know I love David Levithan, so maybe this book would be a good gateway to John Green.

2.) Nineteen-Eighty-Four by George Orwell/ Brave New World by Aldous Huxley/ Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury, as a group. The trifecta of classic dystopians, or at least that’s how I see them. I consider myself an avid dystopia reader, and I feel like reading one or all of these books would give me a new edge of legitimacy as such. But at the same time, I don’t feel sophisticated or intellectual enough to read them. It’s kind of a vicious cycle.

1.) Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. I bet a lot of people are going to say this same thing today: I love the musical, so there’s a part of me that really wants to read it, but on the other hand, there’s a reason people call it The Brick. The thing is like a dictionary.

I should probably get over it and read most of these some day, if not all of them. But we’ll see what happens.

