Every Tuesday, the site The Broke and the Bookish posts a prompt for a top-ten-style list, and book bloggers around the web respond to it on their blogs. This week the prompt is the top ten books on my list to read this summer.

1.) I seriously need to reread the original Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. The whole thing. Because I’m a screaming, manic Percy Jackson fangirl, but I’ve forgotten so much of what happens in the older books that lately I’ve been feeling like a bit of a fraud. This must end here. I’ve already got the first two on reserve.

2.) The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen. I already have it, and signed!!

3.) A Hundred Summers by Beatriz Williams. I read about this book on Goodreads, and it sounds really interesting.

4.) Dr. Bird’s Advice for Sad Poets by Evan Roskos. I saw this at the bookstore and read the first few pages, and fell in love. It’s about a boy who’s obsessed with Walt Whitman, and it seems like it could have a slightly Perks of Being a Wallflower-esque appeal to it.

5.) My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick. Somebody told me this was my kind of book, but I haven’t gotten to it yet.

6.) Sam Cruz’s Infallible Guide to Getting Girls by Tellulah Darling. Saw this on a top ten list a few weeks ago, and it sounds really good.

7.) The Selection by Kiera Cass. I’ve been resisting reading this for a while, but the more I’ve heard about it from other bloggers, the more it’s started to sound potentially good. I might read it.

8.) Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. It’s made so many top ten lists over the months that I have to find out what the fuss is about.

9.) I kind of want to re-read Gingerbread and its two sequels by Rachel Cohn. I generally prioritize rereads below new reads, but we’ll see what happens.

10.) I debated including this, but I’ve just barely stuck my toe into Victor Hugo’s Les Misérables. I’m such a fan of the musical that I feel like I should do this… but for anyone who doesn’t know, there isn’t language strong enough to describe how massive the book is. So I wouldn’t count on my whipping through it before September. 

