Every Tuesday, the site The Broke and the Bookish posts a prompt for a top-ten-style list, and book bloggers around the web respond to it on their blogs. This week the prompt is Top Ten Beach Reads. There are few things on this earth more perfect and idyllic to me than reading on a beach. Here are some low-stress books I think would be perfect for the occasion. Ahhh. Someone get me a beach!

1.) Paisley Hanover Acts Out by Cameron Tuttle. A popular girl is forced to join the low-status drama class. This wasn’t my favorite book all-around, but I think it would be great for the beach.

2.) When it Happens by Susane Colasanti. A cute overachiever girl/slacker guy romance in alternating POV.

3.) Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty.

4.) Notes from the Blender by Trish Cook and Brendan Halpin. I totally forgot I read this until just now, but I really liked it. It’s alternating POV’s of a loner goth boy and a “perfect” popular girl who discover their parents are getting married, and who end up becoming friends and helping each other with their hidden troubles in really sweet ways.

5.) My Unfair Godmother by Janette Rallison. A girl gets a second-rate fairy godmother who grants her wishes by sending her into a variety of fairy tales that are distinctly less fun to live than to read. At least she has the help of a gorgeous guy along the way. 😉

6.) Bossypants by Tina Fey. Because yes.

7.) Withering Tights by Louise Rennison. Hilarious romps in Northern Britain, plus a liberal sprinkling of glorious love interests.

8.) Anything Jane Austen. Jane Austen by the sea? Sign me up immediately.

9.) The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot.

10.) This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen. Anything by Sarah Dessen would be perfect, but for some reason This Lullaby popped out to me as an especially good choice for the beach.

So if you’ll excuse me, I’m just going to pop over to the library, get all ten of these books, and find an airplane to cling to. See you at the beach.

