Every Tuesday, the site The Broke and the Bookish posts a prompt for a top-ten-style list, and book bloggers around the web respond to it on their blogs. This week is Pick Your Own Prompt. I’ve chosen to write about the top ten books (or book series) from my earlier childhood.

1.) The Ramona Quimby books by Beverley Cleary. When I was little, I liked to listen to books on cassette tapes while I was falling asleep. I had all of these books on tape, and I listened to them every day for years. I swear to God, I have those things memorized. And Stockard Channing’s voice on the tapes is burned deeper into my mind than my own voice.

2.) The Peter Hatcher books by Judy Blume. Ditto above.

3.) When I was really little, my favorite book in all the world was Private Lily by Sally Warner. It was about a little girl who decided she wanted her own bedroom, but there weren’t enough rooms in her house, so she went around trying out different spaces, like the bathtub, or underneath her dining room table. I’m not sure why I loved it so much, but I’m guessing it’s because I’ve always been drawn to cozy nooks and hidey-holes.

4.) The Alanna books and everything else by Tamora Pierce. I was obsessed. Fantasy was my favorite genre for a long time. Now I’ve transitioned more into realistic fiction and sci-fi/dystopia.

5.) Moving into my upper-elementary school years: The Tale of Desperaux by Kate DiCamillo. I loved this book!! Awesome. Don’t think you know it if you’ve seen the movie. It’s a completely different experience.

6.) It was in Fourth grade that I read The Lightning Thief and started down the road of obsessive Rick Riordan fangirlhood. A blessed day indeed.

7.) The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart. I think this book is maybe kind of obscure, but it was awesome. I think it would appeal to fans of Series of Unfortunate Events.

8.) Frindle by Andrew Clements. A kid convinces a massive group of people to call pensย “frindles” using only the power of crowd psychology. What’s not to love about that?

9.) The View from Saturday by E. L. Konigsburg. I don’t remember this book all that well, but I think I really liked it.

10.) A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket. Yes!!! The best!!

I’m 100% positive that I’m forgetting a lot of really important books. But this is a decent sampling from my childhood.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

