Every Tuesday, the site The Broke and the Bookish posts a prompt for a top-ten-style list, and book bloggers around the web respond to it on their blogs. The prompt this week is Top Ten Favorite Book Covers of Books I’ve Read. I love book covers; I’ve even considered designing them as a career. Some of these covers were more memorable than the books themselves, to be honest (although some of these I adore as books too.) Click on the photos if you want to see them bigger.

1.) Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. Note that the snow is hearts!

ddl

2.)  Gingerbread by Rachel Cohn. It’s so minimalistic and cool.

gingerbread

3.) The Crazy Things Girls Do for Love by Dyan Sheldon. It’s messy in a charming, attractive way.

crazy things

4.) Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling. It’s so lovely and feminine, with the color scheme and the floral background, and then you’ve got Mindy doing the McKayla is not impressed face. This cover has it all.

hanging out

5.) Out Of My Mind by Sharon Draper. So elegantly simple, and so powerful. Everything is just right, down to the bubbles trailing behind the fish.

out of my mind

6.) Nobody’s Prize by Esther Friesner. I think the main reason I read this series was this cover. I’m a Pisces, and I love water and the ocean. This cover just feels so cool and fresh, and that girl is downright fabulous. Love it.

nobodys_prize_cover

7.) What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen. Sarah’s books all have at least three covers, and I love them all. This one is from my favorite round of covers, and it’s probably my favorite of them. It has such a gorgeous airy quality.

what happened to goodbye

8.) Back When You Were Easier to Love by Emily Wing Smith. It’s just so cute.

back when

9.) Graceling by Kristin Cashore. I may have given this book a slightly lukewarm review, but I’m passionate about its covers. The one on the left is the one I read, which I think is beautiful; the one on the right is one I just found, which I adore even more. Goosebumps!

200px-Graceling_cover     graceling

10.) Chains by Laurie Halse Anderson. Just stunning. The little British and American birds (it’s set during the Revolutionary War) put it over the edge of perfection.

chains

