Oh no!! I got my TTT list all ready, and then  I totally forgot to post it this week! Oh well, better late than never. We’ll have Top Ten Friday this week.

Every Tuesday, the site The Broke and the Bookish posts a prompt for a top-ten-style list, and book bloggers around the web respond to it on their blogs. The prompt this week is Top Ten Books for When You Need Something Light and Fun. This is perfect for me, because I read a lot of fun, light books. Here are some of my favorites.

1.)    Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging, by Louise Rennison, and the rest of the Georgia Nicholson series. Oh how I love these. They are 100% stress free because Georgia is an absolute airhead. But very very entertaining. Some of my happiest hours have been spent following her silly problems and misadventures.

2.)    The Alphas series by Lisi Harrison. I’ve never read/seen Gossip Girl or Pretty Little Liars, but from what I understand, these fall from the same tree. A Tyra-Banks-esque billionare opens a super high-tech school for the top girls around the country in acting, writing, dancing, singing, or inventing; they live on an island together, and incredible amounts of drama ensue. Incredible amounts of drama. These are probably the most honestly trashy books I’ve ever read but they are so enjoyable and addictive. My favorite vice (along with pastries and baked goods).

3.)    The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot. Now these are not trashy, but they are pretty relaxing and light-hearted and great for any occasion.

4.)    All-American Girl by Meg Cabot is another of my Meg Cabot favorites. It’s about a girl who inadvertently saves the president of the United States, and becomes a national hero.

5.)    Girl, 15, Charming but Insane by Sue Limb (and the whole Jess Jordan series). These are great to fill the void when Louise Rennison is between books. They’re about a comedy-loving girl named Jess. And it’s British! All the better.

6.) Sloppy Firsts and the other Jessica Darling books by Meghan McCafferty. Good stuff. Jessica is a great main character.

7.) How to Ditch Your Fairy by Justine Larbalestier. One of my favorite books. Just good all around. Go read it.

8.)    Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. Because it’s the cutest thing ever! Everything these two have written together is great. This one’s my favorite. It’s about a boy and girl who have never met, but pass around a notebook which they leave for each other around New York, giving each other dares and slowly telling each other about themselves along the way.

9.)    Gingerbread and its two sequels by Rachel Cohn. She’s great on her own too! Gingerbread is so unique and has a sort of dreamy quality to it. It’s about a really cool, eccentric, coffee loving girl, Cyd Charisse, who lives in San Francisco, and has a lot of conflict with her step-mom and is sort of a troublemaker (if I remember right– it’s been a while), so she goes to New York to spend some time with her biological dad. The settings both of San Fransisco and New York are really well-integrated and fun. Love.

10.) I don’t know if everybody would consider Jane Austen light reading, but I guess I do. I think I’d have to say my current favorite is Emma, although the ever-popular Pride and Prejudice is exceedingly dear to me as well.

I love light books. 🙂

