Every Tuesday, the site The Broke and the Bookish posts a prompt for a top-ten-style list, and book bloggers around the web respond to it on their blogs. The prompt this week is “rewind”: pick a past topic that you missed or want to revisit. I spend the majority of my time obsessing over fictional guys, so it was obvious choice for me to go with Top Ten Fictional Crushes. Here they are from #10 counting down to #1. I’m probably leaving out a lot of people, since I fall in love with virtually every male character I read. But think of this as a sampling.

10.) Anubis from the Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan. He’s dark, brooding, vague, and a god. Good combination.

9.) Marcus Flutie from Sloppy Firsts and its sequels by Megan McCafferty.  It’s not a fictional crush list without Marcus Flutie. Clever, dangerous, infuriating. He’s a classic.

8.) Noah from Back When You Were Easier to Love by Emily Wing Smith. Such a good guy.

7.) Cain Hinchcliff from Withering Tights by Louise Rennison. He’s such a womanizing bad boy! Which I know should be a bad thing! But, but… he gave her a poem! Auuughh

6.) Craig from It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini. I have a thing for sad, troubled guys.

5.) Peeta from The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I also have a thing for kind, gentle, deeply devoted guys. He’s just so unfailingly sweet and loving to Katniss, even when she’s not the nicest to him. I mean, that stuff when he would hold her while she slept because otherwise she would have nightmares? Gotta love him.

4.) Po from Graceling by Kristin Kashore. His whole attitude! Mysterious, a little sarcastic, and yet really nice and, like, wise. And the way he treats Katsa is so cute. And his powers are super cool. And he’s just really nice and his eyes are awesome and aaah I don’t know stop asking me to explain my emotions!

3.) Dash from Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn. Another sad, troubled guy– and he hides it with sarcasm! Which makes me want to hug him 5 times more. Plus, he goes along with Lily’s note-passing dare game, which shows he has an excellent sense of adventure and awesomeness. He’s adorbs.

2.)Ky Markham from Matched by Ally Condie. AUUUGHHH I can’t, I can’t even talk about this, he’s so amazing. He’s got a dark, tragic past, he’s hiding a bunch of secret pain, he’s an ARTIST and a poet, and he’s just so gentle and sad and artistic and he loves Cassia SO MUCH and I can’t deal with this.

1.) Percy Jackson from various books by Rick Riordan. If I could marry any human being, fictional or real, past, present, or future, it would be Percy Jackson. I don’t care if you judge me. He has literally every quality I look for in a guy. Funny, sarcastic (I have trouble with guys that aren’t sarcastic), brave, loyal, noble, fricking sea-green eyes. And he kills monsters. I’m seriously not sure what more you could ask for.

So there’s my list of the reasons I will be forever alone. I’m ruined for real people. Thanks for that, books. sqee

